Library Guides: Biology 1154: Principles of Biology: Find Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases contain articles about a wide variety of topics.

Academic Search Premier

Provides multi-disciplinary full text articles for more than 4,500 journals.
JSTOR
Access full-text scholarly articles and books in this interdisciplinary database - from African American Studies to Zoology. JSTOR provides access to articles from a deep backfile.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream
Full text of U.S. news content, as well as archives back to the 1980s, of newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Access to the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Includes the Star Tribune, along with a large collection of local and regional newspapers. A good place to research local topics and current events.
New York Times (NYT) Online

Get full access to the New York Times online! If you are a new user, click the New York Times link above to create a free account. Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year selected and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-register.
After registering, login to the New York Times at https://www.nytimes.com/ from any web enabled device using your email and password. You can also download the NYT mobile app and login for access directly on your mobile device.
OneSearch
Search the library's print and electronic materials (books, ebooks, scholarly articles, magazines, DVDs, CDs etc.) with one search.

Subject-Specific Databases

These databases are specific to certain subject areas and may be useful depending on your topic. You can find more subject-specific databases at on the Library's Databases by Subject page.

GreenFile

Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Science Reference Source

Full text science information from encyclopedias, scholarly journals and magazines.
CINAHL Ultimate

The definitive resource for nursing and allied health research. This database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes peer-reviewed articles, quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Scholarly full text journal articles and LexiPAL Drug Guide.
ProQuest Psychology Database
This database provides full text content from leading psychology journals. Topics include: clinical and social psychology, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, and social welfare. Charts, graphs, photos, and tables are included for many articles.

How to Download the LibKey Nomad Extension

To get the LibKey Nomad browser extension:

Go to the Third Iron LibKey Nomad page and choose your preferred browser: https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/#choose-browser Note: You can download LibKey Nomad on more than one browser!
Follow the prompts on the page to download the extension. Typically this is a button that says: "Add to Chrome" or "Add to Firefox," etc.

Example of Add to Chrome download page for LibKey extension

You will see a message alerting you that LibKey Nomad can read and change data on the webpages you are on. LibKey Nomad DOES NOT gather any private information. This read notice just gives the extension permission to search the page for scholarly references and provide a link to the resource. Click the Add button.
Once you add the extension, you will be prompted to choose the organization you are affiliated with. Begin typing Inver Hills Community College in the box provided and you will see our college appear in the list. Select Inver Hills from the list. (If you are using Firefox, you may need to click on the LibKey Nomad icon (green raindrop) in the top right corner of your browser to see this choose organization box).

Once you have selected Inver Hills, the extension is active and will provide links for scholarly resources when they are found on a webpage such as PubMed or Wikipedia.