Library Guides: Library Information: Research Tools

Catalogs

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search the library's print and electronic materials (books, ebooks, scholarly articles, magazines, DVDs, CDs etc.) with one search.

MnLINK
MnLink is Minnesota's collection of state-wide library catalogs and periodical databases. This is useful if you are seeing if you can locate materials locally or through interlibrary loan.
WorldCat
Find books, music, and movies at libraries around the state, the country and the world!

List of Databases

For an alphabetical list of library databases, please see our Databases A-Z list.

To see subject-specific databases, such as health, business, psychology, or criminal justice databases - use the Subject drop down menu on the Databases A-Z page.

Database Tutorials

Please see our Database Tutorials guide for vendor-provided video tutorials of IHCC Library databases.

Find Journals by Title

To search for journals by title, use our Journal Search tool in OneSearch.

Library Research Tutorial

Library Research Tutorial
The Library Research Tutorial will walk you through the research process, providing tips and tools on Choosing a Topic, Finding Books and Articles, Conducting Internet Research, Evaluating Sources, and more.

Research Guides

The Library has many Subject guides, Course guides, and Informational guides! See a list of all guides on our LibGuides homepage: https://inverhills.libguides.com/

Writing Help

Inver Hills Writing Center

The Writing Center provides students with individual tutoring in every phase of the writing process, such as:

generating ideas
outlining
thesis statements
drafting
organizing a paper
finals edits
grammar questions
documenting sources

The Writing Center can help with writing assignments in all subjects, as well as:

creating a resume or cover letter
scholarship essays
personal statements for college admissions

The Writing Center is staffed by lab assistants who are experienced writers and teachers of writing. Keith Richter, English faculty member, is the Writing Center Coordinator. Visit Writing Center Staff to learn more about their backgrounds and beliefs.